A Prize Is A Prize !

Yes, just like a rose is a rose and would smell as sweet with any other name, a prize is a prize and would be just as dear even if it has a few cracks!!

This post of mine had won the second prize in the ‘Celebrating Myself ‘ contest organised by Women’s Web, sending me into raptures–my first ‘real’ blogging prize! Part of the prize was a Women’s Web coffee mug. Now this mug arrived jingling ominously inside the courier package. Fearing the worst, I gingerly cut the package open and as expected, found the cup broken into a million pieces and absolutely beyond repair.

Heartbroken, I mailed the WW editor, complaining that the cup should have been bubble wrapped and packed better for it to survive a long-distance courier and requesting her to send me another cup if possible. She very sweetly agreed, and I began to look forward to receiving another courier from WW.

Almost a month passed without anything turning up and IΒ  almost forgot about it. But then yesterday, quite out of the blue, the postman appeared with a large speedpost envelope. Inside was a bubble-wrapped package. I shook it ever so gently–no jingling! A one-piece mug!

I eagerly cut through two layers of bubble-wrap–and saw to my dismay that the cup was broken after all. That’s right, another cup had arrived broken. Not into a million pieces like last time but into seven pieces nonetheless. They hadn’t jingled because the shards were still pressed in place by the packaging. Sigh!

This time I couldn’t even put it down to poor packaging. Just my luck!

On a positive note, though, the shards were large and looked like they could be put together with Fevikwik. So after dinner last night, my elder daughter and I sat down to see what we could do with it, while hubby took out younger daughter for a long walk so we could work in peace. After one hour of intensive efforts, we were able to put to put all the pieces together(my daughter thought it was like solving a jigsaw puzzle). And the whole was certainly much more than the sum of the parts πŸ™‚

Okay, so what if there are so many cracks–it still is my prize and I love it πŸ™‚

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to A Prize Is A Prize !

  1. Cracks – on a coffee mug or your bones, it is the whole that matters, right? πŸ˜‰
    Congrats again, you totally deserve it.
    That Mark Twain was one wise guy πŸ˜‰

  2. Jas says:

    Congratulations … πŸ™‚ it is certainly a big prize and you managed to put it together as well πŸ™‚

  3. Deeps says:

    Attempting to ‘Like’ the post from my phone, can’t seem to be able to do that :(. Internet playing up again!

    Kudos to you and your elder one for fixing the cracks on the mug and setting it right! Congrats again for the well deserved win! Loved the Mark Twain quote on the mug πŸ™‚

  4. As a memento, that you will treasure for a lifetime, the broken and damaged cup will be even more precious. Since you can’t put it to daily use Β as a cup, Β  it will definitely last a lifetime.Β 

    You will now have an anecdote to Β regale your grandchildren with. I don’t have a cup like this but I have scars on my body, each with a history of it’s own. Of course, no one is interested in this history.

    Keep the trophy Β in the top most shelf in your showcase. The cracks and patching will hopefully not be visible.Β 

    Congratulations!

    And now let me read the winning post.
    Not that it matters. To me each of your Β posts is a winner.
    Regards
    GV

    • Wow GVji, I am overwhelmed and cannot thank you enough for your kind words. You really are a sweetheart to say such nice things by way of encouragement πŸ™‚

      Actually the cup does occupy a spot in our living room cabinet and the cracks are not really visible from a distance. I took close-up shots just to show what a wonderful patch-up job we did πŸ˜€ I doubt whether it will survive long enough to be shown to my grandchildren though, given our frequent transfers πŸ™‚

  5. G Vishwanath says:

    I suggest you get some white cement and make a paste out of it.
    Just a small tea-spoonful will do.
    You can plaster the cracks from outside.
    Then get a black marker pen.
    Get some one with a steady hand and ask him/her to touch up the words “without”, “scarce” and “Twain”.
    From a distance, no one will know, except you, me and your other readers.

    Another suggestion.
    Send the picture to the people who sent you the gift.
    Tell them what happened.
    They might agree to to replace it once again if they have these cups in stock.
    But this time, ask them not to send by courier.
    If you know where they are located, find someone in that city and arrange to collect it personally.
    They can deliver it you safely or you can collect it sometime in future when there is an opportunity.
    You could also collect it from the prize givers directly if they are willing to keep one for you till you can collect it.
    If they are in Bangalore, I would be only too glad to collect it on your behalf.
    Regards
    GV

    • Covering the cracks with white cement is a great idea! I’ll definitely try and do that.

      They probably would be having these cups in stock but I don’t have the heart to ask for one again. I’ve told them that the cup had arrived ‘ a little broken’ but that I was able to fix it. I cannot now tell them that it was more than a little broken πŸ™‚ In any case they are based in Chennai and I do not know anyone in Chennai. So for now this cup will have to do πŸ™‚

  6. Ashwathy says:

    Oh dear…that was really unfortunate. But even then I have to admit….you have done a decent job in putting it all together. I ended up patching together one of my favourite cups which I accidentally broke (and I was so upset because generally I am very careful with these things)…and well… the handle is still incomplete! 😐 Don’t ask! πŸ™„

    • Aww I know. Patching up can be impossible if the pieces are too small or if a few tiny fragments go missing. In this case the shards were not too small and the base was intact, so it was not very difficult, thankfully.

  7. R's Mom says:

    woohoooo! super job done…congrats congrats and even more congrats :):)

    I think yours looks better than my complete one..what say??? it looks totally ‘earned’ :):) you deserve it babes

  8. Pattu says:

    Congratulations.

  9. techie2mom says:

    Wow, you guys did a great job πŸ™‚ i agree to RM though, it really looks earned & as if there is any story behind it, which actually is true πŸ™‚ Congratulations for the prize…

  10. I loved reading this post and the way you brought it all together πŸ™‚ Congrats to you ! πŸ™‚ Love Mark Twain !

  11. Scribby says:

    wow congrats πŸ™‚ The cup is lovely πŸ™‚

    yes of course so what it is cracked, it is a prize and shall remain that πŸ™‚

    p.s. even I feel joining the broken parts of ceramic is like solving a jigsaw puzzle πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

