Back with a song, if not a bang!

Like all good things in life, vacations don’t last forever. Which is just as well, I tell myself–one vacation needs to end for you to start looking forward to another, right?

Well people, I am back, relaxed, rejuvenated and all that, but the muse is still away– and while I wait for it to make a comeback, here’s a Don Williams song that has become something of a pleasant earworm. I happened to hear it recently after a long time and the truth in the words struck me more than ever before–it’s funny how some songs begin to make more sense as you grow older!

Take a look at the lyrics!

I Believe in You

I don’t believe in superstars
organic food and foreign cars
I don’t believe the price of gold
The certainty of growing old
That right is right and left is wrong
That north and south can’t get along
That east is east and west is west
and being first is always best

But I believe in love, I believe in babies
I believe in Mom and Dad
and I believe in you

I don’t believe that heaven waits
for only those who congregate
I like to think of God as love
He’s down below, He’s up above
He’s watching people everywhere
He knows who does and doesn’t care
And I’m an ordinary man
Sometimes I wonder who I am

But I believe in love, I believe in music
I believe in magic and I believe in you

 I know with all my certainty
what’s goin’ on with you and me
Is a good thing
It’s true, I believe in you

I don’t believe virginity
is as common as it used to be
In working days and sleeping nights
That black is black and white is white
That Superman and Robin Hood
are still alive in Hollywood
That gasoline’s in short supply
The rising cost of getting by

But I believe in love, I believe in old folks
I believe in children and I believe in you.

Wonderful, ain’t it? And here’s a clip of the song.

The audio quality of the clip is far from perfect, though. Also, I couldn’t figure out what Richard Nixon was doing in one of the frames!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Back with a song, if not a bang!

  1. Jas says:

    ha ha.. and the grey hairs help too 😀

    It really seems you have come back rejuvenated. Looking forward to the new stories…

  2. Scribby says:

    lovely lyrics…and pardon me I was out of touch so I don’t know where had you been?

    welcome back any way 🙂

  3. Bindu says:

    Welcome back!
    Lovely song 🙂

  4. Ashwathy says:

    WOW! U just made me fall in love with the lyrics! 😀

  5. Deeps says:

    Oh I loved the song, the lyrics and the voice! 🙂

    Welcome back, SH 🙂

  6. jayksingh99 says:

    Very true words…..song lyrics do start to make much more sense as you age…..
    Good choice of song….:)
    Keep posting Scribble H….:D

Leave a Reply

