A Feast For The Eyes — Everyone’s Invited!!

The following are some pics from theΒ  Chrysanthemum Show held every year in December in Chandigarh. For me this annual show is definitely one of the major attractions of life in this city. I for one never even knew that chrysanthemums came in such a variety of shapes and sizes before I attended this show for the first time in 2009!

Take a look at these gorgeous blooms on display in the show held last month.

IMG_3179One of the prize-winners this year.

IMG_3186Khilte hain gul yahan…

IMG_3196Pretty pinks

IMG_3197My daughter thought these looked good enough to be eaten!!

IMG_3226Talk about contrast!!

IMG_3210Blazing yellow

IMG_3218I inquired if this wasn’t a dahlia. No, it is very much a chrysanthemum.

IMG_3189What colours nature has to offer!

IMG_3221Green! Yes, green!

326001_2265474288771_179613771_oThis one was the size of a cauliflower head.

IMG_3199I clicked, clicked and then clicked some more πŸ™‚

IMG_3222Delicate and pristine. I swear I can smell them right now!

IMG_3211Apparently these are called spider chrysanthemums .

IMG_3213Noah’s ark!

IMG_3209White spiders.

IMG_3188Look at the tube-like petals!

So which one did you like the best? πŸ™‚

This entry was posted in Nature, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to A Feast For The Eyes — Everyone’s Invited!!

  1. Zephyr says:

    Every one of them is lovely! I wish I had seen this show during the years we spent in Chandigarh 😦

    • So you too have lived in Chandigarh–isn’t it a lovely city, Zephyr? Too bad my stay here is drawing to a close–we will be shifting in a couple of months to Mumbai…
      This show has been taking place only since the last decade, I am told, so if you were here before that, you didn’t miss anything!

  2. So many beautiful blooms! I like the white cauliflower-size one! πŸ™‚

  3. Ashwathy says:

    Chandigarh!! Brought back some happy memories alright πŸ™‚

  4. Writerzblock says:

    Just gorgeous!!!!!!!!! Couldn’t get enough of them πŸ™‚

  5. Amit says:

    My eyes hurt but they were beautiful. πŸ˜› πŸ™‚

  6. R's Mom says:

    wah! those are amazing pictures and what super flowers πŸ™‚

  7. Fem says:

    Just beautiful! Was this some kind of flower show?

  8. I loved the serene white one among all the others, would definitely drive down to Chandigarh the coming season.

  9. Pink says:

    Lovely flowers ❀ ! Thanks for the post πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

