Day 1: Resolutions

Happy New Year, everyone!

No matter how many years you have seen, a new year always means a new beginning–a time to shed cynicism for a while, a time of rekindled hope and a time when it somehow seems okay to make resolutions yet again, even when you know only too well that they are much easier made than kept!

Experience has taught me that resolutions should not be more than a few and should be accompanied by a concrete action plan. Experience has also taught me that it is best to keep one’s resolutions to oneself–why look silly at the end of the year? But then I joined the January blogathon and the prompt for the first day requires me to talk about my resolutions, so…well…ahem…here goes:

1. I will work up the courage to hit the Mumbai roads on my scooty. I taught myself to ride a scooty when I was in Chandigarh. As I gradually gained confidence I was able to drive it on main roads too. It helped that Chandigarh has great roads and sparse traffic. But then we had to shift to Mumbai– and I have NOT yet mustered the courage to ride out in the chaotic Mumbai traffic. What’s the point of knowing how to ride a scooty when you cannot venture anywhere outside the society?

2. I will be gentler with my kids and will not shout at them so much. Every time I feel I am about to blow my top, I will remember to take a deep breath and count upto ten. Yes, it works. It worked the few times I tried it–but the trouble is, I just forget to do it. So I have now put up a sticker on my table to remind me.

3. I will complete this blogathon πŸ™‚

4. I must cultivate the art of keeping in touch with people. There are so many people who I am very fond of but just never get around to giving them a call. How bad is that? I must learn to find the time to call my loved ones–friends, relatives, acquaintances–every once in a while.

5. I will bite my tongue more often πŸ™‚ If I find myself in the midst of a conversation with people whose ideas and opinions I do not agree with, I will either steer the conversation in another direction or remove myself from the scene.

That’s about it, folks. What about you? What resolutions did you make?

This entry was posted in Blogathon January 2014 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Day 1: Resolutions

  1. chattywren says:

    Taking deep breaths is one of my NY resolutions too! Good luck with yours and with the blogging marathon!

  2. I made a resolution some years ago, never to make resolutions and I have manged to stick to it!
    Happy New Year!
    Regards
    GV

  3. Ashwathy says:

    Good luck with the blogathon! πŸ™‚

  4. R's Mom says:

    Arey riding a scooty in Mumbai is a challenge..but I guess at your area, it shouldnt be too tough rey!

    LOL on the lesser shouting on the kids..we all seem to be sailing in the same boat…

    One of my agenda of this year is to meet up with you! saachimein..willl mail you and decide πŸ™‚

    • RM, the road outside our society gates is a crazy little stretch since it is an intersection. During peak hours, you may have to wait for five minutes to just cross the road.
      Ooh, that’s on my agenda too πŸ™‚

  5. Bingo says:

    All the best and happy new year!!

  6. Good luck with your resolutions !!

  7. Jayashree says:

    Good luck with your resolutions. There’s no better way to gain confidence in driving than to hit the roads on your Scooty.

  8. My resolution this year is to not feel guilty about little pleasures. If I waste every bit of free time on a Friday reading blogs (instead of doing laundry or sending out that delayed report), then so be it. If it brings me happiness, why not? The laundry and the report can wait.

Leave a Reply

