Day 2: The Year That Was

1. Visited my village after a decade to attend a wedding, and boy, what a time I had! Took the opportunity to photograph our house– every nook and cranny of it– from every conceivable angle. In all I took more than 200 shots–the last time I went, I didn’t have with me the wonder called digital camera. Who knows when I’ll get the chance to visit there again? At least now I’ll have those precious pics to look at whenever I feel a little nostalgic.

And the wedding! What fun! Met so many distant relatives after ages. Had a ball dressing up in saris, wearing jewellery, and partaking of the traditional wedding feast–an elaborate affair with over twenty items, not including the sweets 🙂

2. Moved to Mumbai from Chandigarh. Can’t say I was thrilled, but then all good things must come to an end, and I suppose our Chandigarh stint was one such good thing. Mumbai grew on me steadily though, just as it does on everyone. Had the first vada-pao of my life, haggled with booksellers on the pavements of Fort and bought armloads of books without sparing a thought for my already groaning book-case, took a day-trip to Elephanta island and leisurely walks along the Marine drive. Life in Mumbai is tough…but fun.

3. Visited Mahabaleshwar and Panchgani where we had the most awesome strawberry ice-creams ever at the Mapro factory cum sales outlet. Amazing and highly recommended.

4. During the course of a year, my elder daughter became something of a friend/confidante/advisor to me 🙂 We began to talk a lot, person to person, on a wide range of topics as she became more and more capable of grown-up conversation.

5. My father had a health scare that left me badly shaken. Worrying about him kept me awake on several nights . Fortunately he recovered and is completely fine now–but for the first time I really faced the unpalatable truth that our parents may not always be around to love, support and comfort us 😦 Our time with them is, sadly, limited, and every moment of it must be cherished and treasured.

6. I found a job–five working days, good pay, my kind of work and only a couple of kilometers away from where I stay. Too good to be true? You bet. The hitch was, they wanted me to attend a six week compulsory training at Hyderabad, and there was no way I could make it work 😦 So I had to let it go–but the fact that I was able to land the job at all was a confidence boost I could do with.

On balance, 2013 was a fairly good year. Bring it on, 2014!

This entry was posted in Blogathon January 2014 and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Day 2: The Year That Was

  1. R's Mom says:

    Wah what a wonderful recap…

    Darn! that job thing you couldnt take kya..six weeks is not long no? :):) glad your dad is better now!

  2. Ashwathy says:

    Nothing like starting the year with positive memories right? 🙂

  3. Point by Point response/comment.

    1. I too went to our native village in Paalakkad (Palghat, Kerala) and visited our ancestral home which had been sold after my grandfather died in 1980. The house had changed hands twice later. The present occupants were gracious and invited me in when I told them who I was and I too took pictures of the inside of the house, which had been considerably altered and modernised.

    2.I moved from Bangalore to California and back to Bangalore and then back again to California. I will be hopping between the two places and staying 6 months at each place for the next few years.

    3. I visited a number of places around the Bay Area of California during the past two years.

    4. I just got a new friend too! My long awaited one and only grandson was born last year, 11 years after my daughter’s marriage. We had nearly given up hope of becoming grandparents. God is great. HE makes us wait till HE is ready. We are baby-sitting him here in California these days. He is now 15 months old and is now making only baby noises. It’s an international language and everyone understands when he is uncomfortable, when he wants something, and when he is merely throwing a tantrum. I have captured all the significant stages of his life with video clips on my Ipad. His first turning over, the first time he sat up, the first time he stood holding on to some support, the first time he took a few unbalanced steps and the first time he started walking without support. He is now a toddler.

    5.I too had a few health scares in 2010 and 2011 and have been in and out of ICUs twice. But I survived. I am reasonably okay now and not too worried. I have lived a full life and no one is going to be hurt too badly if I suddenly kick the bucket now. I retired two years ago and am now living out the rest of my life, alternating between making myself useful to my daughter and son in law for six months in a year at California and enjoying my retired life at Bangalore, doing nothing in particular, for the balance six months.

    6. I have a full time job now for six months every year. 12 hours a day. 7 am to 7 pm. No pay! Only the pleasure and satisfaction that only grandparents can experience, plus the bonus of saving a lot of money in dollars in nannies and au pairs and day care center charges for my daughter and son-in-law. We are baby-sitting our grandson here in California while my daughter and son in law are out at work the whole day.

    Yes, on balance, for me too, 2013 has been a good year. Let 2014, 2015, 2016 and the rest come on. Every additional year is a bonus, as long as I and my wife are healthy enough to enjoy them.

    Keep going and I will follow your blogathon and attempt a “commentathon”.

    Regards
    GV

  4. chattywren says:

    I love Chandigarh, though it’s been years I’ve been there now. And then it was enroute home to escape Mumbai madness! I agree life in Mumbai is tough but fun too.

  5. Bingo says:

    I am dying to have a grown up conversation with my daughter 🙂
    If the offer is still on your hand and you are worrying about accommodation / daughter and stuff, please feel free to use our house 🙂

Leave a Reply

