Day 4: Achievement

The prompt for today’s post had me stumped. My curriculum vitae boasts of exactly one and a half years of work experience–and while it was fun, I did not exactly achieve anything of earth-shattering significance during my job-stints. Bringing up kids, when I am not even doing an exceptional job of it, is hardly an achievement worth talking about.

But then, having to think and write on something you’d rather be an ostrich about is what a challenge is all about, right?

Right. Soย  I gave it some thought and went into flashback mode, trying to fish out an ‘achievement’ from the recesses of my memory, and the following was the first thing that came to the mind.

The year was 2004 . We had shifted recently to Lucknow from a hill-city , which, while being much more livable than this town, still had pretty rudimentary educational facilities. The transfer to Lucknow was, therefore, much awaited as it would afford me the chance to go for higher education after a gap of five years.

I applied for a B.Ed. from Lucknow University –we had, fortunately, happened to arrive in Lucknow right in the fortnight when forms for the coming session become available. A number of people told me that the tests were really tough and very comprehensive. Over fifteen thousand people from across the state appear every year for about eighty seats, and people from outside the state could only ever avail of four seats out of those eighty.

“Never mind.” the husband assured me. “You prepare for the test as well as you can and take it–if you get through, well and good. If not, you will at least get an idea about the pattern of the questions and prepare accordingly for the text year.” Next year? No way. I wanted it THIS year.

Husband brought for me a stack of books on logical reasoning, mathematics and current affairs and I began preparing in the right earnest in the fifteen days that I had. I was also required to brush up on my graduation and post-graduation subjects on which I was woefully out of touch.

All of this while being the sole caregiver of an active, demanding and frequently crankyย  two-year old. I wouldn’t admit it so many words then, but frankly I didn’t give myself much of a chance in the circumstances.

In the event, I did well in both parts of the tests, but I had no idea how well was well enough. I could only hope to get through somehow. The day the results were out, I went to the University with much trepidation. I skimmed the list once in a hurry and didn’t see my name. My heart sinking, I was going through the list another time when the husband shouted–“You topped!! OMG, you topped! Look all the way up, that’s where your name is!”

There is something about finding your name at the top of a list–itย  makes you feel like you are on top of the world ๐Ÿ™‚

During the course of that year, as I came to know my classmates, I saw how very bright and hardworking most of them were. I felt honoured to be part of that batch. I knew it was no mean feat to have scored better than them. It is an achievement– if at all you can call it that– that I still hold close to my heart.

This entry was posted in Blogathon January 2014 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Day 4: Achievement

  1. Glad to hear that you topped the list!

    I haven’t been a “topper” in anything in life. Just above average in studies and in my career.
    I now get vicarious pleasure and satisfaction in watching others getting to the top.

    The high point was in 2006 when my son was elected one of India’s five Rhodes Scholars, at the tender age of 19, and he was featured on the front page of TOI, Bangalore, along with a colour picture and also a couple of years earlier when he won an award at Mumbai’s Kala Ghoda festival for the best actor in a play that itself won the best play award that year.

    I will now look forward to some “top” achievements in the future from my little 15 month old grandson whom I am baby sitting these days in California.
    Regards
    GV

    • Wow, your son is amazing. All of seventeen and the best actor at the kala ghoda– and then a Rhodes scholar at nineteen? Wow! You sure are fortunate to have such a bright and talented son, GVji!

  2. chattywren says:

    Wow, that is a great achievement and one you should be proud of! I decided to skip that topic for today, because I just did not want to go into thinking-mode today, maybe some other day:)

  3. Deeps says:

    What an achievement indeed! You had every reason to feel on top of the world ๐Ÿ™‚

    So many of you have taken up the blogathon challenge! Its going to be quite a challenge for us readers too, to keep pace with you ๐Ÿ˜€

  4. Bingo says:

    wow, that’s really an achievement. Good job.

  5. R's Mom says:

    Thtas a great achievement. But honestly I do feel that achievements shouldnt be just measured in career terms, the fact that you are bringing up two kids with the right values and morals is such a wonderful thing to do! I think thats a super great achievement in itself!

    • I agree it’s a wonderful thing to do and one that has its moments of joy and satisfaction, but is it an achievement one could write about? Because everybody does it, no? Yes, no, maybe….I have my doubts..

  6. simplegirl says:

    that is a great achievement.. ๐Ÿ™‚ ..and I also agree with RM..

  7. kinmin says:

    Hey it’s my first time here! Wow that’s an awesome achievement, you should be proud of yourself!! And I agree with RM’s comment above – most people do bring up kids but I think parenting is one of the toughest jobs anyone ever has to do! And there’s no training or formal education, you have to work really hard to figure out the right way to go about it!

    • Thank you, kinmin. You’re quite right about parenting being the toughest job in the world, and that one has to work really hard at it–just that I am not really sure I am doing the job well enough to call it an achievement ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

