Day 5: Bucket List

I just checked the meaning of bucket-list– it means  a list of things to do before you die and apparently comes from the term ‘kicking the bucket’. Oh. So far I’ve been using the term rather loosely in the sense of a wish-list. Turns out it is a list of things you wish to do —as opposed to things you wish would happen, somehow– in your lifetime. The addition of a time-frame attaches an element of urgency to it. A bucket-list, then, is a “serious”  wish-list, I suppose, with no scope for frivolity or flippancy.

So what’s on my to-do-before-I -die list? Let me see…

1. Travel around the world as much as finances permit. In particular I so want to see the Great Barrier Reef in Australia, the pyramids of Egypt, aurora borealis or the northern lights in Norway, the Niagara falls in the US, and Tuscany in Italy–I remember seeing the movie ‘Under The Tuscan Sun’ and thinking I must visit the place someday. I also want to visit Cleveland, Ohio in the US because my father spent five years there and I have grown up listening to his tales from the place!

2. Go on an extended Bharat Darshan tour!!

3. Go paragliding at least once.

4. Write a book –self-publish it if need be. They say every person has a book inside of him. I haven’t an idea what the book that’s inside me might be about, but I hope to find out before I die.

5. This is for when I am old and past the age of retirement–associate myself with a non-profit NGO that works for a cause dear to my heart and dedicate at least one year to social work.

6. Live in a house with a large back-yard cum kitchen garden.

7. Buy a piece of real estate on my own, no matter how tiny!

I leave you with these oft-quoted lines from Ghalib, which just seem so apt in this context:

Hazaron khwahishen aisi, ki har khwahish pe dum nikle                                                            Bahut nikle mere armaan lekin phir bhi kum nikle!!

(Thousands of wishes, and each one to die for. Many wishes have been fulfilled but so many are still left unfulfilled.)

This entry was posted in Blogathon January 2014 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Day 5: Bucket List

  1. Interesting list.
    In case you didn’t know, there was film called “The Bucket List

    Here are the opening lines from Wikipedia on the entry “The Bucket list”
    ===============
    The Bucket List is a 2007 American comedy-drama film directed by Rob Reiner, written by Justin Zackham, and starring Jack Nicholson and Morgan Freeman. The main plot follows two terminally ill men (portrayed by Nicholson and Freeman) on their road trip with a wish list of things to do before they “kick the bucket”. The film premiered on December 15, 2007 in Hollywood. It opened in limited release in the United States and Canada on December 25, 2007 and was distributed by Warner Bros. The film opened in wide release in the United States and Canada on January 11, 2008 and was released in the United Kingdom on February 8, 2008, and in Australia on February 21, 2008.[2][3] It received mixed reviews from film critics, but was a box office success, opening at the top of the box office and grossing a total of $175.3 million worldwide.
    ==============

    It’s too late for me to have a bucket list.
    I can only look behind my shoulder at all my previous experiences and list them.
    What would such a list be called? I wonder.
    Regards
    GV

    • I vaguely remember hearing about the movie somewhere–maybe I read a review of it on one of the blogs I follow. Sounds interesting for sure.
      //What would such a list be called? I wonder.//
      Don’t know what they would call it but I do know that it will make for some very interesting reading 🙂

  2. playfulpups says:

    If you make it to Cleveland I’ll be happy to give you tips/places to go!! 🙂

  3. R's Mom says:

    On no.6 – I grew up in such a house, and I wont recommend it to anyone. Too much of hardwork in maintaining it 🙂 Though my parents loved it and got a similar one in Palakkad now 🙂 I am happy in my cramped Mumbai apartment :):)

    Hope all your wishes come true 🙂

    • Yeah, I guess it would involve a lot of hard work but I just feel it would be fun 🙂 If I don’t like it I’ll shift to another house/apartment after a while 😛

      Thank you so much, RM!

  4. Where is your Day 6 blogathon post?
    Not to be seen till IST : 8:45 pm on Monday Jan 6.
    Will check back later.
    Regards
    GV

  5. Interesting. . I find we have lot of dreams in common .:)

  6. kinmin says:

    Hey It’s my first time here.. and I was thinking of quoting the same lines by Ghalib at the end of my bucket list post! 😉

  7. Ashwathy says:

    Beautiful. Add a few more items to it and this could well be my list as well 🙂

Leave a Reply

